Just add bra

So I’ve been spending a lot of time in my pyjamas lately (that’s pajamas in American). I don’t really think it’s a bad thing; I’m currently a student, my hours are irregular, and most of the work I need to do can be done in front of a computer from my home, no clothes required. But there’s just something about taking a shower and putting on normal clothes that makes me feel as if I’d boosted my productiveness.

I don’t think it actually makes a noticeable difference in my work output; it’s really all just in my mind. The act of putting on day clothes is a physical action that changes the way I’m perceiving my reality, if you will. And it doesn’t even need to be an entire change of clothes. Sometimes just adding a sports bra under my pjs is enough! I’m like a video game character (an analogy my generation will probably use increasingly), gaining HP with each “upgrade:” wash face, +5; contact lenses in, +12; bra on, +7; deodorant, +3; shoes, +6; etc. My to-do list is a bit silly as well: wake up, eat some food, put on bra to boost productivity, write a blog about putting on a bra to boost productivity, do coursework.

I’ll never be certain if writing blog posts are “productive procrastination” or not. This is my coursemates’ new favourite phrase.  It basically involves avoiding doing the work you’re meant to do by doing some other work, studying something that is beneficial to your Chinese language learning, or applying for jobs; essentially anything that you stand to benefit from yet is not what you’re actually supposed to be doing.

On that note, I’d best be getting back to my work!

P.S. Hello again, blog readers! I’ll try post more this month 🙂

This entry was posted in Ponderings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

